Rauf Mamedov. A supper interrupted.

The Frolov Gallery space represents the artworks of different years by Rauf Mamedov: the “Annunciation” diptych from the project “Seven Biblical Scenes” (1996-1997), three polyptychs – “The Last Supper” (1996-1997), “Games on Window Sills” (2003) and “Pieta” (2005), combined into one trilogy, and the nine-part “Supper at Emmaus” (2007).
All these works have already been exposed individually many times at various exhibitions, as well as all together at a large retrospective in the Moscow Museum of Modern Art (2011). Yet, today this exhibition of Rauf Mamedov is particularly relevant.
On the one hand, throughout many years his creative process has been referred to eternal themes and biblical scenes. On the other hand, staying in the current context of postmodernism, it does not strive to be scandalous and provocative. It is beyond time. It is relevant, and it is eternal.
ABOUT THE SERIES OF RAUF MAMEDOV
For more than a decade the artworks by Rauf Mamedov have been attracting attention by occasional though invariably vivid and memorable projects. They attract the audience for many reasons.
First, it is their obvious professionalism: all the compositions indicate the artist’s indisputable talent of a director. Rauf Mamedov has worked on many fiction and documentary movies, thus he knows how to arrange a mise-en-scène and give extraordinary persuasiveness to each character. The artist knows firsthand about the casting process and a carefully selected type.
Second, it is the fact that the author, using the means of modern high-tech photography, addresses the eternal motives and themes of the old masters’ classical painting in both senses – in form (a polyptych genre, a compositional structure of each part subordinates to a common decision of the whole) and in content (reference to the key episodes of Christ’s earthly life).
And, finally, third – it is the vivid humanistic idea, since all the characters of Mamedov’s artworks are people suffering from a delay in intellectual development or from some physical imperfections. The contemplation of these people, representing scenes from the Holy Scripture, gives the viewer a sincere feeling, not belittling but rather the opposite – an uplifting, cleansing and truly Christian feeling of sympathy and, at the same time, the most powerful impulse of tolerance towards those who are different from the majority of others. Needless to say that these qualities have a special and enduring relevance in today’s Russian reality.
The series of Rauf Mamedov embody the most important trend of the postmodernist artistic discourse, based on a widely understandable citationality as a semantic basic principle of the image construction and on the principle of the removal of the author from the story which he makes real, leaving the space for commenting statements. These extremely powerful artworks have an undeniable artistic value and are among one of the brightest occurrences of the contemporary Russian art.
The works of Rauf Mamedov are well-known in the art world, have been exhibited many times in Russia and abroad in solo and various group exhibitions. They are hold in prestigious collections both in Russia (Moscow Museum of Modern Art; the “Ekaterina” Cultural Foundation, Moscow; Novy Museum, Saint Petersburg), and abroad (Tel Aviv Museum of Art, Israel; The West Collection, USA; and others).
A.V. Tolstoy
Doctor of Art History
Member of the Russian Academy of Arts
Rauf Mamedov was born in Ganja (Azerbaijan) in 1956. In 1973 he entered the Azerbaijan State Agricultural Academy. In his second year Rauf left the academy and went to serve in the Soviet Army. After the army, from 1976 to 1980, he worked as a mechanic, then as a driver and later on as a medical orderly in a mental hospital. From 1980 to 1985 he was studying and got graduated from the Russian State University of Cinematography named after S.A. Gerasimov. Starting from 1985 he’s been working as a filmmaker in Moscow. Since 1996 he is engaged in the art projects. From 2012 Rauf is a professor at the British Higher School of Design. Currently he lives and works in Moscow.

The artworks of Rauf Mamedov are held in the following collections (the list is not full):

Moscow Museum of Modern Art, Moscow, Russia
Multimedia Art Museum / Moscow House of Photography, Moscow, Russia
Ekaterina Cultural Foundation, Moscow, Russia
Novy Museum, Saint Petersburg, Russia
Tel Aviv Museum of Art, Tel Aviv, Israel
WEST COLLECTION, Philadelphia, USA
Collection of Victor Bondarenko, Moscow, Russia
Collection of Shalva Breus, Moscow, Russia
Collection of Alexander Smuzikov, Moscow, Russia
Collection of Olga Slutsker, Moscow, Russia
Collection of Petr Aven, Moscow, Russia
Collection of Sir Anthony Hopkins, London, England

ontop

Рауф Мамедов. Прерванный ужин

На выставке Рауфа Мамедова в пространстве Frolov Gallery представлены работы разных лет: диптих «Благовещение» из проекта «Семь библейских сцен» (1996-1997), три полиптиха «Тайная вечеря» (1996-1997), «Игры на подоконниках» (2003), «Пьета» (2005), объединенные в одну трилогию, а также девятичастный «Ужин в Эммаусе» (2007).

Все эти работы уже неоднократно выставлялись и по отдельности на различных выставках, и все вместе на большой ретроспективе в Московском музее современного искусства (2011). Но сейчас эта выставка Рауфа Мамедова особенно актуальна.

С одной стороны, его творчество на протяжении уже многих лет обращено к извечным темам и библейским сюжетам.
С другой стороны, оставаясь в современном контексте постмодернизма, оно не стремиться быть скандальным и провокативным. Оно – вне времени. Оно – актуально, и оно – вечно.

О ЦИКЛАХ РАУФА МАМЕДОВА

Произведения Рауфа Мамедова привлекают к себе внимание нечастыми, но неизменно яркими, запоминающимися проектами вот уже более десятилетия. Они привлекают многими своими качествами.

Во-первых, своим очевидным профессионализмом: ведь все его композиции свидетельствуют о бесспорном режиссерском даровании автора, работавшего не над одним игровым или документальным фильмом, и потому умеющего выстроить мизансцену, а каждому образу придать необычайную убедительность – Мамедов не понаслышке знает, что такое кастинг и найденный типаж.

Во-вторых, обращением средствами современной высокотехнологичной фотографии к вечным мотивам и темам классической живописи старых мастеров – как в формальном (жанр полиптиха, композиционное построение каждой части, подчиненное общему решению целого), так и в содержательном (обращение к ключевым эпизодам земной жизни Христа) смыслах этого понятия.

И, наконец, в третьих – ярким гуманистическим посылом, поскольку все персонажи работ Мамедова – люди, страдающие отставанием в интеллектуальном развитии или какими-либо физическими несовершенствами. Созерцание этих людей, представляющих сцены из Священного писания, придает зрителям чувства искреннего, но не принижающего, а, напротив, возвышающего, очищающего, то есть, истинно христианского, сострадания и одновременно адресует им мощнейший импульс толерантности по отношению к тем, кто не таков, как большинство других. Стоит ли говорить, что эти качества имеют в сегодняшней российской действительности особую и неизменную актуальность.

Циклы Рауфа Мамедова воплощают важнейшую тенденцию постмодернистского художественного дискурса, опирающегося на широко понимаемую цитатность как смыслообразующий базовый принцип построения образа и на принцип отстранения автора от воплощаемого им сюжета, оставляющего пространство для комментирующего высказывания. Это очень значительные работы, представляющие бесспорную художественную ценность и являющиеся одними из самых ярких явлений современного российского искусства.

Работы Рауфа Мамедова хорошо известны в художественном мире, неоднократно выставлялись в России и за рубежом на персональных и различных групповых экспозициях, и хранятся в престижных собраниях как в России (Московский музей современного искусства; Фонд культуры «Екатерина», Москва; Новый музей, Санкт-Петербург), так и за ее пределами (Тель-Авивский музей изобразительных искусств, Израиль; West Collection, США и др.).

А.В. Толстой
доктор искусствоведения
действительный член Российской Академии художеств

Рауф Мамедов родился в городе Гянджа (Азербайджан) в 1956 году. В 1973 году поступил в Азербайджанский сельскохозяйственный институт. На втором курсе оставил учебу в институте и пошел служить в Советскую армию. После службы в армии с 1976 по 1980 работал слесарем, затем шофером, а позже санитаром в психиатрической больнице. С 1980 по 1985 учился и закончил режиссерское отделение Всероссийского государственного института кинематографии имени С.А.Герасимова. С 1985 работает кинорежиссером. С 1996 года занимается художественными проектами. С 2012 преподает в Британской Высшей школе дизайна. Живет и работает в Москве.

Работы Рауфа Мамедова находятся в следующих коллекциях (выборочно):

Московский музей современного искусства, Москва, Россия
Мультимедиа Арт Музей / Московский Дом фотографии, Москва, Россия
Фонд Екатерина, Москва, Россия
Новый музей, Санкт-Петербург, Россия
Тель-Авивский музей изобразительных искусств, Тель-Авив, Израиль
WEST COLLECTION, Филадельфия, США
Собрание Виктора Бондаренко, Москва, Россия
Собрание Шалвы Бреуса, Москва, Россия
Собрание Александра Смузикова, Москва, Россия
Собрание Ольги Слуцкер, Москва, Россия
Собрание Петра Авена, Москва, Россия
Собрание Сэра Энтони Хопкинса, Лондон, Великобритания

наверх